Niagara Falls Hotels – 2010 Water Park Hotel in Niagara and more

February 2nd, 2012

A Niagara landmark – The Crowne Plaza Hotel Part 5 Exploring the area’s heritage, the Crowne Plaza and the adjacent Sheraton on the Falls are the ideal places from which you begin a walk through the neighborhood. A large part of Niagara’s fascinating history can be discovered in this area. Let us begin. Prior to the Crowne Plaza is the entrance to the Rainbow Bridge which connects Niagara Falls, Ontario and Niagara Falls, New York. Officially on 1 November 1941 was opened, it has a length of 950 feet. The province of Ontario and the State of New York jointly own the bridge. Because of war rationing gasoline, very little traffic using the bridge during the first few years. The Rainbow Bridge replaced an earlier span called the Upper Steel Arch Bridge or Honeymoon. On 27 January 1938 a massive ice jam, 60 meters thick, formed into the gorge below the bridge, so that the abutment be weakened, and it broke down under the ice. An outstanding feature of the Rainbow Bridge is the Rainbow Carillon Tower. It has 55 bells, weighing 9 pounds to 10 tons. There are regular concerts in the summer holidays and on special occasions during the remainder of the year. Turning right and go south a short distance from the hotel along Falls Avenue, you’ll soon see, just on the opposite side of the road from the hotel and across from Casino Niagara and the Sheraton on the Falls, a beautiful formal garden. It is known as the Oakes Garden Theatre. During most of the 19th Century, this town was the location of the most famous hotel in Niagara, the Clifton House. Built in 1833, it was described in a guidebook, published 11 years later, when a large, elegant, spacious, well equipped hotel, stands on the brow of the bank in close to the ferry, and commanding a magnificent view of the Falls. During the last years of the American Civil War, the Confederate agents in Canada stationed often met at the Clifton House. This prominent hotel was on fire by a 26th Destroyed in June 1898. A new Clifton House was built on the same site in 1905 and soon gained the same reputation as his predecessors had enjoyed for so many years. Ironically, on New Year’s Eve 1932, it was lost in a spectacular fire. Soon after the property was purchased by Harry (later Sir Harry) Oakes. He was a mining magnate suggested that it was rich in Northern Ontario. In 1924 he moved to Niagara Falls. Oakes donated the former Clifton House property to the Niagara Parks Commission in 1934 in exchange for a piece of land above the steep hill at the back of Queen Victoria Park soon after the Commission has the Garden Theatre to see today. Opened on 18 September 1937, it is a beautiful blend of architectural and horticultural skills. Over the years, many concerts and special events have taken place at the theater. These include a series of live broadcasts of the Regis and Kathy Lee TV program, and concerts with artists such as Bob Dylan and Kenny Rogers.

Be Sociable, Share!
Tags: